The Nell and John Wooden
Leadership in Coaching Award

On October 12, 2017, Roy Williams, University of North Carolina, will be the recipient of the 4th Nell and John Wooden Leadership in Coaching Award.  Roy Williams will be entering his 15th season as head coach for the University of North Carolina Tar Heels and 30th as a college head coach. Coach Williams has achieved great success on the court winning his third NCAA Championship in 2017, appearing in nine Final Fours, earning eight ACC regular-season titles and having been inducted into the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame, College Basketball Hall of Fame and North Carolina Sports Hall of Fame. Even greater is the impact he makes on the lives of the young men he coaches. Throughout his career at UNC, Williams has coached seven players from the DC-Maryland-Virginia area: Melvin Scott (Baltimore, Md.), Marcus Ginyard (Arlington, Va.), Ty Lawson (Clinton, Md.), Kendall Marshall (Dumfries, Va.), James Michael McAdoo (Norfolk, Va.), Nate Britt (Upper Marlboro, Md.), and Kenny Williams (Midlothian, Va.). 

The Nell and John Wooden Leadership in Coaching Award, named after legendary UCLA basketball coach John Wooden and his wife, Nell, was created in 2012 to recognize college basketball coaches who exemplify Wooden’s “Pyramid of Success” teachings both on and off the court.







2016, Dale Brown, Louisiana State Tigers










2013, Mike Krzyzewski, Duke Blue Devils                                  










2012, John Calipari, Kentucky Wildcats